Transferring an already registered domain entails changing the registrar company that handles the domain registration service, so after the transfer itself, you’ll have to manage things like renewal fees or DNS entry modifications through the new domain name registrar. The transfer process is standard with most domain name extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and involve different procedures, but in the general case transferring a domain entails a few basic steps and one of them is unlocking the domain. The lock is a security option, which is being adopted by more and more domain registry organizations. It’s a standard feature supported by all generic TLDs. If a domain is locked, it won’t be possible to start a transfer procedure, so no one can even try to register your domain. The lock can be removed only through the account where the domain name is registered and all new domains that support this feature are locked by default when they are registered.
Registrar Lock in Shared Web Hosting
If you get a shared web hosting from our company, you will be able to administer all domains registered through us via our Hepsia hosting Control Panel and you’ll be able to unlock any of them with only a couple of clicks. All registrations will be displayed in alphabetical order in the Domain Manager section of the hosting Control Panel and for each one of them you’ll notice a small padlock symbol. Clicking on it will show you the current security lock status. If the domain is locked and you wish to transfer it, you’ll just need to click once again and you’ll be all set. Locking a domain is just as easy and since the domain names are administered in the exact same location as the hosting account itself, you will not have to log in and out of different admin consoles.
Registrar Lock in Semi-dedicated Hosting
If you have registered a domain name through us and you wish to transfer it, you can quickly unlock it through the exact same Hepsia Control Panel, which you use to administer your semi-dedicated server account. All registrations will be shown alphabetically in your account and you’ll notice a small padlock-like icon next to each domain there, as long as its extension supports the registrar lock feature. You can see if the domain name is locked or not by clicking on this icon and change the current status by clicking on it once again. You can then continue and start the transfer process right away without having to wait for the status to be updated on WHOIS lookup websites, as the change will take effect instantly without you or us having to do anything else.